California parents, take note! Beginning this month, the state’s booster seat law has changed. According to the old law, parents were required to keep their kids in booster seats until they reached age 6 or weighed at least 60 pounds. But now, California has raised the minimum age to 8 years old and ditched the weight requirement, opting instead for a height requirement of 4 feet and 9 inches.
These new requirements—though potentially unpopular with the six-to-seven-year-old set—are intended to better protect small children in the event of a collision. Most seat belt systems are designed for fully grown adults, and booster seats help put children in the proper position, thus protecting them more effectively.
We at Honda of El Cerrito hope that all you parents of six- and seven-year-olds haven’t already sold your booster seats on Craigslist! In all seriousness, though, we support these new regulations and are proud to serve northern California with some of the safest cars on the road for all our valued passengers, big and small.